09/21/13: High School Band Day @ USC

For you Trojans and Aggies, you all probably know that this past Saturday was the USC vs. Utah State football game at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum.  The game to me was interesting, intense, and stupendous, mostly because it was my first time attending a college football game. However, the significance of Saturday for me was actually the halftime show, the halftime show that my high school band and I had a part in. For those who didn’t know, Saturday was High School Band Day at USC.

Before I begin blabbering about my day, I have to mention that the band director at my school is actually a USC alumni, which is why our band attended event. I also have to mention that all my compliments of USC in the later parts of my post aren’t meant to be offensive to other universities; USC is the first college I really got to kind of experience.  In other words, what I’m trying to say is that I hope no college rivalry will develop because of this post. I’m just trying to retell my experience 🙂

Anyways, my day began when I had to get to school at 6:45 AM in the morning. Yep, 6:45 AM. I was pretty upset about waking up early, but on the other hand, I was also excited. Gathering my uniform and my alto saxophone, I headed to the school bus along with my fellow band mates. After a ride that was a little more than half an hour, we finally arrived at USC. Although it was quite early, we could already see students and adults adorned with their USC gear, ready for the football game.

We as a band then marched down to the field where the Trojan band was rehearsing. I was so surprised not only by the fact that they sounded really, really good, but because I got a glimpse at what college life was really like. I saw people in their pajamas and girls with rollers in their hair. Honestly, it gave me a feeling that made me kind of excited to apply for college.

The band sounded really goodThat was my first time hearing a college band play, so I was astounded by how nice the sounds of different instruments melted together. It gave me inspiration to do better in my own band. The Trojan band was later dismissed, which meant that it was time for our band along with the bands of other high schools to get down on the field and rehearse with Tony Fox running the rehearsal.

After the rehearsal, we had to eat lunch and change on the bus, which was extremely uncomfortable. Sigh. SG band life. We then were finally ready to march over to the coliseum. On the way there, I saw a sight that was just joy to my eyes; there was school spirit everywhere. Sure, school spirit exists in the high school I attend, but the spirit I saw on Saturday was overwhelming in comparison. Walking in the sea of red and yellow was delightful and extremely cool.

LA Memorial Coliseum

LA Memorial Coliseum – (c)cindiyu

We were finally seated and the game started. The Trojan band literally played nonstop, which shows how great they are. Halftime finally came, with USC leading 14-7. Halftime was showtime. All bands marched on to the field and then we played two tunes (one being Back to the Future) conducted by Alan Silvestri, known for his compositions in numerous major hit films.

Trojan Band @ Halftime

Trojan Band @ Halftime – (c)cindiyu

Trojan Band @ Halftime

Trojan Band @ Halftime – (c)cindiyu

After the excitement, we went back to the stands to enjoy the rest of the game. USC is victorious with a score of 17-14. The entire day was an experience I literally will never forget because it led me to encounter things I’ve never encountered before; it led me to catch a quick glimpse of the college life and a world I’ve never been a part of before.

– Cindi

USC Trojan Band (Post-game)

USC Trojan Band (Post-game) – (c)cindiyu

Leave a Reply

