10/05/13: Walk like MADD & BJ’s restaurant

Early this morning, I went to Granada Beach with my Youth Council group. I am a new member and I really appreciate having this opportunity to participate in Walk like MADD a 5k walk named mothers against drunk driving. I woke up at 4:10 a.m in the morning and our group left from the place where our Youth Council meetings are held (which is in Rosemead) to Long Beach. I don’t think I ever woke up that early [I have stayed up that early before, though]. I also regret eating a choco-pie cookie at 5 a.m. in the morning because I got a stomach ache afterwards..

We arrived at the event spot around ~6:45.

sunrise (c)sophiexu

sunrise (c)sophiexu

We helped out setting up booths and directing traffic for MADD. I stood on the side of the walk/bicycle pathway directing traffic aka people on bicycles. But of course, I have no idea how to sufficiently direct traffic so I was like “ uh.. bicycle. -points- bicycle. BICYCLE.” When we were finished setting up, I drew letters on the [oh so] SOFT sand. I never knew sand was so soft.

name in sand (c)sophiexu

name in sand (c)sophiexu

After passing out T-shirts and water bottles, My friends and I started the MADD walk at ~9:15. We passed by many cheer squads encouraging us on and we passed the pier. The wind was strong. Sand went into my shoes, my mouth, my ears.

the pier[blurry] (c)sophiexu

the pier[blurry] (c)sophiexu

We finished around 10 a.m. and waited until 1 to help clean up. We originally were going to go eat at the Golden Corral Buffet & Grill but when we arrived, the line was very long. Therefore, we decided to eat at BJ’s restaurant & brewhouse.

sweet pig & gourmet five meats pizza(c)sophiexu

sweet pig & gourmet five meats pizza(c)sophiexu

Oh. My. Goodness. The Pizookie was so good. We ordered a party platter containing cookie n’ cream, triple chocolate , chocolate chip, and white chocolate with macadamia nut. Warm, gooey cookies on top of cold ice cream!

Pizookie party platter (c)sophiexu

Pizookie party platter (c)sophiexu

My advisors took me back home at San Gabriel at ~3:45. I had a great experience. The paper dove tributes to victims of drunk driving reflected much emotion, heartbreak, and beauty.

(c)presstelegram.com

(c)presstelegram.com

It made me very aware that I should be more responsible and support others. People wore t-shirts presenting their loved ones and many held up signs. I am definitely going to do it again next year. –Sophie

Leave a Reply

