Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D: Review (Ep. 1 & 2)

I don’t know what show you all were looking forward to premiering this autumn, but for me, I was definitely looking forward to Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. As a huge fan of the movie The Avengers, the entire Iron Man franchise, and just Marvel in general, my excitement went completely over-the-top two weeks ago. Here’s my short review on the characters and my insight on the plot!

Warning: SPOILERS MAY BE INCLUDED!

The Team:

(c) To Rightful Owner

(c) To Rightful Owner

The character I like the most in the team would have to be Agent Phil Coulson (Clark Gregg). Nearly everything he says makes me laugh. His humor is sarcastic at times (more like majority of the time) and his personality as a team leader is great. From the first two episodes, it can be seen that Agent Coulson is a compassionate and caring person, although he doesn’t really show it. Again, like when I was watching The Avengers, I feel as if he’s the glue holding the entire team together. Without him, the team would have collapsed from the very beginning. The revival of Agent Coulson is not entirely made known during the first two episodes, but I know that it’s definitely going to be explained later on throughout the show.

(c) To Rightful Owner

(c) To Rightful Owner

Anyways, we as the audience are introduced to new characters. One of the characters is a girl name Skye (Chloe Bennet), a hacker and activist (hacktivist) working for a group called “The Rising Tide,” which dedicated to exposing superheroes and individuals with some sort of power. As the episode continues on, we find out that S.H.I.E.LD has apparently ran into trouble with “The Rising Tide” numerous times, which may eventually lead to some rough patches between Skye and S.H.I.E.L.D. In my opinion, Skye definitely is an important character to the show; she provides a sense of freshness to the whole agent thing. What is I mean is that because Skye isn’t a agent or some sort of trained personal, she is able to see the world in another perspective. Since Skye is involved with “The Rising Tide,” there is going to be some sort of conflict between what organization she really wants to be a part of (like we saw at the end of Episode 2).

(c) To Rightful Owner

(c) To Rightful Owner

Agent Ward (Brett Dalton)  is another new character that was introduced in the first episode. Before I talk about the character, I just have to say that Brett Dalton is a beautiful man. Haha. To me, Agent Ward is a character that seems to provide humor at the most awkward times. That’s not the best thing; the best thing is that the humor is pretty dry. He would say the funniest things in the most monotonous way, and that’s what makes his character so likable. Through the first episode, we find out that Ward is used to working alone, going in and getting the job done by himself. Because he is now working in a group, we know that throughout the series, Ward may display some signs of discomfort or discontent with working as a team player. I excited to see how Ward will overcome this disability of his.

(c) To Rightful Owner

(c) To Rightful Owner

Agent Melinda May (Ming-Na Wen) is a character I’m really interested in seeing the producers develop. From the first episode, we know that Agent May, a member of S.H.I.E.L.D, was working in administration until Agent Coulson pulled her out of the job. We can also infer that something regarding  one of her previous missions caused her to put herself in administration. This aspect of the character will most likely be built on throughout the show. What I really like about Agent May is that she’s too cool; her skills, along with  driving the “bus”, are freaking amazing. When she whooped the guy’s butt in the first episode, I was just astonished to the point where I wanted to do the same thing.  Agent May is definitely a character I would like to learn more of.

(c) To Rightful Owner

(c) To Rightful Owner

Jenna Simmons (Elizabeth Henstridge) is a member of S.H.I.E.L.D who deals a lot with bio-chemical studies during the missions. In my opinion, the show hasn’t really built upon her character yet; I’m still looking for more details about her. One thing I like about the character is the fact that she handles pressure extremely well. In episode one, when she and Leo Fitz (another scientist in the team) were under a huge amount of pressure to create some sort of chemical solution to stop a guy from exploding, she was able to calm Fitz down by simply stating, “Just think of it as an exam.” However, there still isn’t much to be said about Simmons; I’m looking forward to learning more about her.

(c) To Rightful Owner

(c) To Rightful Owner

Leo Fitz (Iain De Caestecker) is another character that hasn’t really been built on. Fitz is a genius (like Simmons) who has stupendous skills in engineering; he is able to create and manipulate pretty much any type of device. Although much isn’t known about him, he is a likable character due to his drive to succeed. His character really needs to be developed.

Brief Review: The season started off with a blast in my opinion. With the appearance of Agent Coulson, my inner Marvel fangirl was just too happy. I don’t know about you guys, but when Agent Coulson (Phil) was stabbed by Loki, my heart shattered a bit. Sure, Agent Coulson may not have been a main character, but I felt as if he created a huge impact (which is true seeing how the Avengers came together because of him).

Since the show barely began, I understand that there are a lot of things that need to be unpacked into the show. However, I have to say that this show has a lot of potential; if the characters and plots continue to be exposed little by little, then the show can become successful. I’m looking forward to knowing the characters more, to see the possible love-line between Skye and Agent Ward (which could be my OTP) , and to find out the truth behind Coulson’s death.

What do you guys think about the show so far? Leave your comments down below!

Don’t forget to tune in to tomorrow’s episode “The Asset” on ABC (8/7 Central)! -Cindi

Leave a Reply

