Daily Prompt: The Outsiders – “A Glass Wall”

Daily Prompt: Tell us about the experience of being outside, looking in — however you’d like to interpret that.

by Cindi

I stood there, quietly admiring them. The colors they adorned, the swift movements they made, and the feeling of exclusiveness they radiated amazed me.

I wondered, how could they be so strikingly beautiful?

The more I stood there and the more I stared made me curious; I wanted to know what it feels like to be part of them. 

The way they moved in group, the way they supported each other, the way they communicated was so unique.

And there I was, an outsider looking in. I was an outsider who wanted a chance to experience the life they were living. It felt as if there was some kind of barrier between us; it holding me back, disabling me from even reaching them.

I had so many questions that were going through my head. What did it feel like to be seen and admired by so many people? What did it feel like to be the center of attention?

Yet, I knew that I could never answer those questions. I could never be part of them.  I will always be me, an outsider. But I knew I will be okay. Life moves on, and I’ll find a group of people that will be perfect for me. I’ll find people that won’t treat me as an outsider; instead, they’ll consider me as one of them. We probably won’t be admired nor in the center of attention, but that’s doesn’t matter. As long as we have each other, everything will be fine, just fine.

Upon reaching that realization, I turned away from the thick, glass tank that stood in front of me.

yah

(Based on an aquarium experience~)

5 responses to “Daily Prompt: The Outsiders – “A Glass Wall”

  1. Pingback: of wtf moments « Anawnimiss·

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Outsiders | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss·

  3. Pingback: Looking inward | My Kaleidoscope·

Leave a Reply

