Review: Bones Season 9 Episode 13 – Why Wendell?

The world is a wonderful place to see…

Warning: SPOILERS ARE PRESENT!

wendellThe Jeffersonian team investigates the death of Colin Haynes, a struggling country music singer whose remains were found in a shallow grave. When the team learns about the victim’s music career, it leads them to his record label, which, they discover, was deceitful in its dealings with him. Meanwhile, squintern Wendall Bray breaks his arm during a hockey game and Brennan takes a closer look at his injuries, only to discover some shocking news. 

Review by Cindi

Rather than talk about the overview of tonight’s episode, I’m going to focus on the one aspect that stood out to me, which is squintern Wendell Bray being diagnosed with a type of bone cancer (Ewing’s Sarcoma to be exact). Wendell Bray is my favorite intern in Bones; not only is he a gorgeous man, but he’s  a gorgeous man with a bright, friendly, and amicable personality.

I knew that something was wrong when Brennan suspected Wendell’s injury, but I wasn’t expecting something so awful to be the problem. Right when I heard about Brennan’s suspicions, my mind raced back to Vincent Nigel-Murray, the intern that was killed. I remembered the devastation I felt when that event took place… My eyes were swollen after that night’s episode; it was just awful. I’m really hoping that Wendell continues to stay on the show. His personality radiates comfort and brightness in such a serious environment.

The most significant thing about this episode in my opinion is the strong attachment that Brennan and Booth feels for Wendell. It seems as if Brennan and Booth were Wendell’s parent figures in this episode. I’ve never seen Brennan so afraid to say something; when she was trying to break the news to Wendell, I couldn’t help but tear up a bit because I kind of understand how hard was for her to tell him.

The moment that Wendell decided to leave also kind of destroyed me. I think I’m too emotionally attached to the character LOL. I don’t think I can handle having another intern disappear. First Zack Addy (who I also loved very much), then Vincent Nigel-Murray, and now possibly Wendell Bray? I will go crazy if Wendell dies… for real, I’ll go crazy.

Now, the part that literally tore me apart was when Brennan hugged Wendell. The relationship that they have developed so far is too precious to be replaced, and I want that relationship to continue to grow. Thank goodness Wendell decided to fight because I’m looking forward to the strengthening of the relationship between Brennan and Wendell.  Gah, I just love his character so much. Please, keep Wendell Bray ):

Anyways, what do you all think about tonight’s episode? Do you feel just as sad as I am about Wendell Bray?

Leave a Reply

