Review: The Silent Governess by Julie Klassen

The Silent GovernessBelieving herself guilty of a crime, Olivia Keene flees her home, eventually stumbling upon a grand estate where an elaborate celebration is in progress. But all is not as joyous as it seems.

Lord Bradley has just learned a terrible secret, which, if exposed, will change his life forever. When he glimpses a figure on the grounds, he fears a spy or thief has overheard his devastating news. He is stunned to discover the intruder is a scrap of a woman with her throat badly injured. Fearing she will spread his secret, he gives the girl a post and confines her to his estate. As Olivia and Lord Bradley’s secrets catch up with them, will their hidden pasts ruin their hope of finding love?

Review by Sophie

This story started right off with mystery and with Olivia running away. It was very easy to slip into the story. As Olivia runs away and faces certain dangerous obstacles, we are introduced to characters right away. I did enjoy some sweet moments in the story and having all the plot’s puzzle pieces filling in. I felt fulfilled because this book has an epilogue. Usually, book don’t have epilogues and it would leave me empty and sad inside.

Although I liked the book, I couldn’t connect with the characters. (I liked the gamekeeper though.) Lord Edward Bradley and Olivia didn’t really have this spark for me. When they first met, they didn’t hit it off which was fine but it seem like Bradley was only attracted to her because she was nice and good with children and she knew his secret. Nevertheless, it was nice that they helped each other out with their problems and valued each other’s intelligence and abilities. I enjoyed the little toss-and-turn in Edward’s mind when he was observes Olivia.

She stretched her legs out before her, and Edward glimpsed a sliver of stocking and tapered ankle. He averted his gaze. He was not a man to sneak a look at a woman’s leg. He repeated this sentiment to himself once more. and then again.

Many characters in this book had a lot of secrets. Many had problems and troubles. When Edward and Olivia were discussing their less-than-perfect fathers,  it was pleasing how Edward confided in Olivia.

“I can still see myself, a boy of nine, perhaps,” Lord Bradley continued, “than a boy of ten, then finally eleven, standing with my fishing pole, waiting at the garden door for my father, who had promised yet again to take me fishing–’tomorrow,’ ‘tomorrow.’”

The story was actually a bit unpredictable for me. I kept guessing to myself “I think I know what happen” but it actually went another way which was a good thing. I would also think to myself “Oh, I did not think of that!” when one of the characters reveals the truth. I quite enjoyed the surprise mystery in the story.

This is the third book I read from this other and I want to say I love her choices for the quotes in the beginning of each chapters. Sometimes its like a teaser for what’s going to happen next. This makes it so much enjoyable. There is this one quote that did not make sense to me for the story but I like the quote anyway.

“When you set yourself on fire, people love to come and see you burn.” — John Wesley

That quote really brings out my strong/dark side.

I would love to use this quote out loud one day.

Grade: 4 out of 5. I do love the epilogue and having the plot fit like a finished puzzle. The unpredictability made it really fun to read.

Leave a Reply

