Daily Prompt: Let’s Go Crazy – “Dance & Band”

Daily PromptSometimes, we act on impulse: it could be something as small as ordering that special dessert on the menu, maybe asking out that cute boy or girl, or as large quitting your job and selling everything you own to become a shepherd in New Zealand. What’s the most crazy, outrageously impulsive thing you’ve ever done? If you’ve never succumbed to temptation, dream a little. If you gave yourself permission to go a little crazy, what would you do?

“Dance & Band” by Cindi

To me, transitioning to high school meant wanting to be a part of so many things, especially the dance team. However, one thing I knew I didn’t want  to be a part of was band. Heck no. After two years of middle school band, I was done. I was going to leave behind all those moments of tuning, playing in concerts, and carrying that heavy alto saxophone behind. I told myself that I would never sign up for band. Never.

When  the high school band recruiters came to my middle school band class, I avoided all eye contact. I’m not going to go through this again. I’m not going to ever do band again! I thought. However, because one of my friends saw the small amount of people signing up, she decided to put her name just to be nice, and while doing that, she convinced me that it wouldn’t hurt if I put my name on the list too. Obviously, I didn’t want to be on that darn list, but because I felt bad for the recruiters as well, I signed up. I mean, if they call me, I could just say that I lost interest right?

Before middle school promotion, I tried out for the high school dance team, and I made it. That moment was amazing for me; I’ve always wanted to be part of a dance team, yet I doubted my dance abilities. Once I got that “You made it!” letter, I knew that my high school years were going to be just the way I wanted them to be. One of the goals I had for high school was accomplished.

However, as I began to integrate into the dance team, I grew discontent. Every time I heard the words “dance practice,” I turned unhappy, stressed, and solemn. I loved dance, and I still do, but I felt as if the team wasn’t the right fit for me. Therefore, I decided to quit. I spent days and days pondering about whether I was making the right decision of not, but in the end, I went through with it. I told myself that it didn’t make sense for me to stay in something I didn’t feel comfortable in. Once I quit, I felt extremely relieved, yet I also felt empty. I wanted to be a part of something, something that made me happy.

Right around that period of time, I began to receive notifications from band to attend some band camp (since I signed up on that list). I knew I wasn’t going to join band; I mean, I’ve been saying that since the last year of middle school!

Yeah, I went to that band camp. For some odd reason, a reason which I can’t even explain, I went, and I went for all two weeks. The camp was painful, hot, and just tiring; yet, I began notice that the people there seemed like they could be my future high school family.

My feelings changed drastically and I ended up changing my entire school schedule just to fit band. It was an impulsive and kind of like a “YOLO” moment (I’m sorry I had to bring that term up; it just totally fits the moment). It felt as if I was putting my high school years on the line.

If I look back and reflect on my spontaneous move, I would say that it was the best move I’ve ever made. I just went for it, and so far, I’m loving the outcome. After one year of concert band, I’ve moved up to marching band, and it’s fantastic. I love being a part of a group that is so closely associated with school spirit.

That impulsive moment I had really taught me a lot. It showed me that things don’t always go as planned, and it also taught me that I can never leave band; music will always be a part of me.

10 responses to “Daily Prompt: Let’s Go Crazy – “Dance & Band”

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Let’s Go Crazy | Nola Roots, Texas Heart·

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Let’s Go Crazy | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss·

  3. Pingback: Dodgy Doges and Fresher Frescoes | litadoolan·

  4. Pingback: [M.M.X.I.V. 67] Elevators | Never A Worry·

  5. Pingback: How I Got A Book Published “On Impulse” | The Political and Social Chaos Blog·

  6. Pingback: This Right Here | Views Splash!·

  7. Pingback: of impulses | Anawnimiss·

  8. Pingback: Gone Sailing·

  9. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “Impulse” – “Embrace Your Impetuousness” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)·

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Linger – “Homecoming” | A Midnight Blog·

Leave a Reply

