Daily Prompt: Careless Whisper – “Childhood Squabbles”

Daily PromptIt happens: sometimes that filter in our head bursts and we say too much of what we’re thinking and someone gets hurt. Tell us about a time you or someone you know said something that they immediately regretted.

“Childhood Squabbles” by Cindi

Being an immigrant from China, it was difficult for me to make friends, but when I did make friends, I tended to keep them close to me, so close that I seemed almost clingy.

I remember this one moment that occurred in my fourth or fifth year of elementary school. That experience, to this day, continues to bring back memories of guilt and selfishness, memories that I want to erase. First of all, it involved two friends whom I’ll address as Friend A and Friend B for privacy concerns.

Friend A was my first friend at that school, so I deeply cherished our friendship. Without her, my elementary school life would’ve been awful and lonely. Friend B was also a close friend of mine, though our friendship wasn’t as strong as my friendship with Friend A.

Anyways, Friend A and Friend B were also friends, so all three of us always hung out together during the full fifteen minutes of recess and the forty-five minutes of lunch; we also hung out at each other’s houses too. We were tight.

One day, during lunch, all three of us were sitting and chatting about, you know, elementary school stuff, when all of a sudden,  Friend B took out two pears, one for herself and one for either Friend A or me. Who does she choose? Friend A. I was angry; I felt left out and unappreciated, and most importantly, I felt angry at Friend B.

All of a sudden, I heard myself say to Friend B,”You friend stealer!” Next thing I knew, I was running off, crying. Why was I crying when I was the one accusing someone? I don’t know, but I definitely regret ejecting those words out of my mouth.

Luckily for me, my friends forgave me, and we were back to being close buddies the next day. That experience taught me to be careful with the words that come out of my mouth; that’s why I’m so cautious as a speaker. Although I was young and um, stupid, I learned a lot from that outburst.

Lesson of the day: Childhood squabbles can teach lessons.

I hope you all enjoyed this! Don’t forget to like and subscribe! Also, feel free to comment~ 

3 responses to “Daily Prompt: Careless Whisper – “Childhood Squabbles”

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Careless Whisper | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss·

  2. Pingback: Daily prompt: Regret | The Wandering Poet·

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: “Misconceptions” | A Midnight Blog·

Leave a Reply

