[Volunteering] 140309 ASICS LA Marathon 2014!

Written by Cindi

It was that time of year again where thousands of runners came together to run the 26.2 mile course, which started at the Dodger Stadium in Los Angeles and ended at the Santa Monica Beach.

This year was my second year volunteering for this service since I really enjoyed my experience volunteering last year. However, this time, my task was completely new and completely hectic. Rather than passing back the runners’ personal items like I did last year (which was also a fast-paced job), this year, I was in charge of setting up the snacks as well as passing out water bottles and towels. You would not believe how appreciative runners are after receiving an ice cold towel after running 26.2 miles in mid-to-high 70 degrees weather.

The most hectic job I had today was passing out the wet towels. The fellow volunteers and I walked back and forth carrying soaked towels and after passing them all out, we jogged back to the what I call the “towel station” to retrieve more towels; we continuously did that for over an hour or two. However busy it was, I actually enjoyed the job a lot. I loved the feeling of receiving all the “thanks,” “thank you,” “I love you,” and “You’re an angel” comments; they made me feel extremely helpful and appreciated. The task definitely tired me out, but it was worth the gratitude that many runners displayed.

To keep things short and simple and to get straight to the pictures, I just want to say that the LA Marathon is one of my most favorite service events that is offered by my school’s National Honor Society. I’m hoping to attend next year to make it my third year. Who knows, I might even run the marathon some day. 🙂

Pictures:

*All pictures were taken by me, so if you’re interested in using them, please give credit to me (Cindi Yu) and Amidnightblog.wordpress.com ~

While waiting for the runners...

While waiting for the runners…

Setting up snacks for the runners!

Setting up snacks for the runners!

Setting up water for the runners too!

Setting up water for the runners too!

While waiting at the water station...

While waiting at the water station…

The first few runners arrive!

The runners arrive!

The shirt is gorgeous...

The shirt is gorgeous…

Thank goodness I wore running shoes!

Thank goodness I wore running shoes!

Unfortunately, we ran out of towels and ice );

Unfortunately, we ran out of towels and ice );

The cutest boxed lunch I've ever received!

The cutest boxed lunch I’ve ever received!

Where all the magic happened today...

Where all the magic happened today…

Feel free to leave comments and suggestions down below! Don’t forget to subscribe to this blog and to like this post! 

One response to “[Volunteering] 140309 ASICS LA Marathon 2014!

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Perspective | A Midnight Blog·

Leave a Reply

