[Volunteering] 140301 UCLA Youth Day & CAM Lantern Festival!

Written by Cindi

Today was another one of those back-to-back service days that always bring new and great experiences to me. Yes, I am incredibly exhausted and I am crying for sleep right now. but if I don’t write about it now, I’ll probably miss out important details.

*NOTE: I was supposed to upload this post last week but I forgot to upload the pictures that go along with this post. Oops. Regardless, I hope you enjoy reading about my experiences! 

UCLA Youth Day 2014 

What went on:  The event consisted of numerous activities attempting to show high school students how Red Cross works at the college level, what college life is like, and how to prepare for disasters and such. All the volunteers and high school students were split up into groups to compete against other groups. Throughout the day, each group played games to try to obtain points (the group with the most point wins!). Within those games, skills such as CPR and Triage was taught. Besides competing and learning, high school students also got the amazing chance of exploring part of the beautiful UCLA campus as well as eating at one of the dining halls.

What I learned: Through the “Amazing Race” activity, I became a bit more confident in my CPR skills. I took a CPR class before, and I am certified, but my skills were pretty rusty. Because of one of those stations in the race, I was able to reassess my knowledge of CPR again. Through the same activity, I learned something called Triage, which is something I’ve never heard of. It taught me how to classify and sort out victims in the case of a disaster. Another activity, which was somewhat like an auction,  creatively demonstrated all the items needed in a disaster kit.

Overall thoughts: I really enjoyed this event. Not only was it fun and exciting, it also educated me with all the basic Red Cross knowledge; I feel a lot more confident in my abilities. I thought it was extremely clever for the UCLA Red Cross members to use competitive activities as a method of teaching.  This event also motivated me to do better in school because I want to be able to attend a great school like UCLA. All in all, I really liked this event and if I could, I would love to attend it again next year!

UCLA Dining Hall

UCLA Dining Hall

Path to UCLA's Murphy Sculpture Garden

Path to UCLA’s Murphy Sculpture Garden

Campus Overview

Campus Overview

Going from UCLA to the CAM on the I-10 Freeway

Going from UCLA to the CAM on the I-10 Freeway

Chinese American Museum (CAM) – Lantern Festival

This was my second year attending this festival, so I was a bit familiar with how things worked. However, what was different about this year was the rain, the rain that changed the dynamic of the event.

What went on: Each year, the CAM in Downtown Los Angeles holds a festival to celebrate the Chinese culture. The Lantern Festival, as it is called, is a great event for families to attend, since it offers various types of entertainment. It also contains an arts and craft section, which is a fantastic way for families to bond. Various food trucks are set up around the area for convenience. If you’re extremely interested about the history of the growth of Chinese in America, you can enter the Chinese American Museum, which is, literally, right around the corner. What’s great about the museum is that it expands each year; new artifacts and new exhibits are often added.

What I learned: Although the rain downplayed the event just a bit, a good amount of people did turn up. I realized how many people are actually interested in Chinese history. While I was keeping eye on the exhibits and making sure no one was ignoring the “Do not touch” signs, I was touched by the amount of people that came in to experience the knowledge offered by the exhibits. While I was there, I also went to look around, and by doing that, I learned a lot about the people that established the community that I am a part of today.

Overall thoughts: If it wasn’t raining yesterday, the event could have carried a larger success. However, the Lantern festival was still able to enrich people today about the part of the Chinese history. I personally enjoy the arts and craft section (which I wasn’t able to help out at this year) and the entertainment the festival offered (the Fung Brothers were a part of it this year!). Like the UCLA event, I would love to be a part of this service again next year!

My Favorite Exhibit Room - The "Chinese Herbs" Shop

My Favorite Exhibit Room – The “Chinese Herbs” Shop.

The other side of the shop display.

The other side of the shop display.

Artifacts of what the shop sold.

Artifacts of what the shop sold.

This was an a really cool artifact!

This was an a really cool artifact!

(c)amidnightblog

The diversity of the items sold by Chinese herb stores are clearly shown…

School supplies anyone?

School supplies anyone?

Perhaps a letter from someone of the same family tree?!

Perhaps a letter from someone of the same family tree?!

 

Hope you all enjoyed my little run-through of my volunteer experiences that day! I’m extremely interested in blogging about all the wonderful volunteer services I’m a part of, so I’ll probably being doing this really often~

If you have any comments, concerns, questions, or anything else, feel free to contact us!

Don’t forget to comment and subscribe! 

*All pictures were taken by me, so if you’re interested in using them, please give credit to me (Cindi Yu) and Amidnightblog.wordpress.com ~

One response to “[Volunteering] 140301 UCLA Youth Day & CAM Lantern Festival!

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Perspective | A Midnight Blog·

Leave a Reply

