Daily Prompt: Linger – “Homecoming”

Daily PromptTell us about times in which you linger — when you don’t want an event, or a day to end. What is it you love about these times? Why do you wish you could linger forever?

“Homecoming” by Cindi

I’m pretty sure all of us have, in some way or another, experienced something relating to homecoming, whether it’s the homecoming pep rally, the spirit week prior to the dance, the football game preceding the dance, or the actual dance itself.

During my freshman year, I found myself caught in the wave of the  homecoming frenzy. The homecoming court elections, the school colors, and the pep rally just brought out my excitement and school pride . My middle school never had something like this, so even hearing the word “homecoming” mentioned brought a thrill of some sort.

Little did I know that the real thrill was yet to come.

I remember precisely deciding whether or not to attend the homecoming football game. I wasn’t sure if I wanted to fess up the money to watch football, which obviously, I can watch on TV. Besides, I don’t even like football so why bother?

Like my other impulsive move, I quickly decided to go to the game. I assembled a group of friends to go with me and with our thick jackets and knitted scarves, we all sat and watched the game.

Going to that football game was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. Remember what I said earlier about school spirit? Well, that didn’t even come close to the spirit at the game. Everyone was just excited and it felt as if the school was united as one.

I think I personally loved that experience and wanted it to continue on forever because everyone was just pumped up and happy. Everyone (at least from my side of the bleachers) all came together to cheer for one team, which ended up winning. The spirit and liveliness definitely boosted up my happiness and my adrenaline, and the fact that my closest friends were there made it extra special.

I guess I just like surrounding myself with people that radiate merriment and joy. What’s funny is that the homecoming game encouraged me to continue on with my high school band career.

I guess it all works out , right? 🙂

2 responses to “Daily Prompt: Linger – “Homecoming”

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Linger | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss·

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Linger | Nola Roots, Texas Heart·

Leave a Reply

