Daily Prompt: Saved by the Bell – “Ice Skating”

Daily Prompt: Tell us about a time when you managed to extract yourself from a sticky situation at the very last minute.ell us ab

 

“Ice Skating” by Cindi

I’m sure one of us has at least experienced a moment where we just feel left out. You go somewhere with a group of people but you’re always the one standing on the outside, looking in.

There was this one time where my school marching band was hosting a fundraiser at the local ice skating rink. I’ve never ice skated before. Of course, I wasn’t planning to go, yet one of my “closest” friends effectively convinced me. I was so swooned  by her reasoning and persuasion that I changed my mind. Way to go Cindi.

However, I soon had doubtful thoughts circulating my head. That friend that convinced me to go was planning to go with other people too. I knew for a fact that this whole ice skating experience was going to be a  bad one. I just got that “bad-vibe” feeling. Throughout that entire school day, I just worried and worried. I knew that I was going to be the one looking in again. She’s not going to hang with me. She’s just going to leave me by myself, hanging on to the side handles,  trying to stay on my feet. Multiple experiences had taught me that lesson.

When it was about time to go, I couldn’t do it. I wanted my first ice skating experience to be special, especially since ice skating seems like a wonderful activity to do.

I told her I changed my mind. I’m not going to go. I had more stuff to do, so maybe I’ll go the next time we have another fundraiser.

I could see the disappointment in her face, but I knew that disappointment would fade away. She was going to have a blast without me, and it’s okay. She deserves to have fun, and she always does. However, I don’t deserve to be pushed aside.

The whole situation was indeed “sticky” for me. I had to decide whether I wanted to feel included but technically not included, or to feel excluded but content with my settings. I chose the latter.

I still haven’t had the chance to go ice skating, but I’m definitely going to go some day, with people that will draw me into their circle, with people that will not leave me hanging by myself.

One response to “Daily Prompt: Saved by the Bell – “Ice Skating”

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Saved By The Bell – the Daily Problem | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss·

Leave a Reply

