Daily Prompt: Pick Me Up – “Empowering Myself”

Daily Prompt: What is the one word or phrase that immediately cheers you up when you hear it?

“Empowering Myself” by Cindi 

We all are certain about one fact; life is like a roller-coaster. It’s filled with highs and lows, and basically, it’s crazy. Life for me, especially right now, in the middle of AP testing period, is a major low. The stress is accumulating and the pile of unfinished work enlarges second by second.

This is where I step back and examine the huge mess in front of me.

First of all, I remind myself why I’m doing this; I’m remind myself why I’m working so hard. Well, that’s easy; I want to get into a great school and once I get there, I want to work towards success.

After my quick reflection, I say my mantra out loud. To me, my mantra is like some magical spell; it fixes me up and reinvigorates me. My mantra is my pick me up.

Theodore Roosevelt, the twenty-sixth president of the United States, once said,

Believe you can and you’re halfway there.”

To this day, I live by this quote. Though short and reasonably simple, it gives me the feeling that I’m in control of my own future. It also gives me hope and optimism and motivation, reminding me that my negative situations are just temporary; it tells me that if I trust and believe in myself, things will be okay; things will get better.

And let me remind you all; things definitely will get better.

 

 

Image credits belong to me (Cindi Yu).

One response to “Daily Prompt: Pick Me Up – “Empowering Myself”

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Pick Me Up – Yesssssssss | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss·

Leave a Reply

