Daily Prompt: Futures Past – “Changes”

Daily Prompt: As a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up? How close or far are you from that vision?

 

“Changes” by Cindi

Like almost every individual in his or her childhood, I was awfully innocent and of course, idealistic. Everything I saw I wanted to be. I was easily swayed and influenced by my surroundings. As a result, I never had a set career in mind. My “dream” was constantly switching in and out.

One major proponent of the alterations was contributed by the media. As a kid, I was exposed to television, magazines, and the rest of the jazz. Some of us may not realize it, but mass media has a  ginormous impact on how children, preteens, and teenagers think. Therefore, whenever I saw someone doing something extremely cool on TV, I wanted to do the same.

For example, I saw Barbie and the Twelve Dancing Princesses. Guess what I wanted to be. You’re right. A ballerina. How about seeing someone draw a kick-ass painting? That’s right, an artist. Perhaps the career that I thought I was sure to pursue was a singer. Why? I saw a little girl perform on stage and I saw how people applauded her.

When I look back at all those desires and dreams I had, I chuckled to myself. I don’t hate myself for having such idealistic dreams; it’s great that I had the confidence and courage to dream big. However, I don’t plan on going for any of those visions.

After going through life a bit and experiencing different situations, my goal has altered. I want to obtain a career in which I am able to help people. I want to be able to affect the lives of individuals directly and I also want to establish mutual friendships with the people I  work with.

For quite a while, I’ve been contemplating about becoming a family physician. Inspired by my own family physician, I’ve been researching about the career, and so far, I’m pretty pumped up about it. I know that the journey to becoming a family physician will be long, tedious, and difficult, but I am willing to try. After all, why I am working so hard in school for?

4 responses to “Daily Prompt: Futures Past – “Changes”

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Futures Past, a Bird, Orchids and a few childish dreams – and my dad | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss·

  2. Pingback: The Impossible Dream | lynnesartandsoul·

  3. Pingback: Flash Fiction / Short Story – “A Family of Marionettes” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)·

  4. Pingback: Older, and dafter too! | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me·

Leave a Reply

