Daily Prompt: Bittersweet

Daily Prompt: You have to choose one flavor that your sense of taste will no longer be able to distinguish. Sweet, sour, bitter, salty, umami, spicy (not a taste per se, but we’re generous): which one do you choose to lose.

Bittersweet by Sophie

Choosing what flavor to relinquish from my tastebuds, one food dish and one drink comes to mind.

First of all, I would have to say I would choose to lose bitterness. That being said, I would miss it though I dislike bitterness.

The food dish that came to mind was this :

stuffed bittermelonStuffed bitter melon. My mom made this dish when I was younger. The first time I ate it, it was confusing. I mean, I love meat. But bitter melon? Yuck. As I grew older, one of my family members told me bitter melon was good for me. And if I had a choice of either bitter melon or stuffed bitter melon.. well you know, I’ll pick the one with meat.

Now that I’m older, I tolerate bitter melon much better now. Its even delicious sometimes (again, with meat).

The drink that came to mind :

Green Tea

Tea is awesome. At first I was really into black tea because green tea was a bit bitter to me. Now, I know that green tea has a lot more health benefits and every time I know something is good to me, I reexamine my food choices though I love my chips. I drink tea like its water. I even prefer it over water. My favorite is green tea with matcha.

Anyway, adiós bitterness! Even if its gone, I’ll probably still eat stuffed bitter melon and green tea.

Note: It should be mentioned that Cindi, my co-blogger, LOVES bitter melon. When I first heard this from her mouth I was like “WHAT?!?!?

 

Leave a Reply

