Daily Prompt: “Misconceptions”

Daily Prompt (On Bees and Efs): Do you — or did you ever — have a Best Friend? Do you believe in the idea of one person whose friendship matters the most? Tell us a story about your BFF (or lack thereof).

“Misconceptions” by Cindi

Growing up in a foreign country, it was hard to make friends. However, with help from books and television, I did the impossible. I made friends. Not only did I find friends, I also found best friends.

In many of the books I read when I was young, the main character, usually a girl, would surround herself with a bunch of friends. Among that group of friends, she would have her best friend.

Because of these misconceptions derived from the only sources I had, I thought that my “social” life had to mimic those misconceptions. Therefore, during my elementary school years, I was a groupie; I surrounded myself with a bunch of friends and established someone as my best friend.

However, as time passed and as I experienced more aspects of friendship itself, I came upon a revelation that suggested that having a best friend might cause dilemmas more than anything else. The evidence backing up that revelation came during my freshmen year when my best friend relationship stood on rocky ground. Feelings and interests were at conflict and unfortunately, the “best friend relationship” came to an end.

Through that experience, I learned that sometimes, having no best friend works out better than having one. Since then, instead of having one best friend, I have a few close friends. There is no competition or priority regarding these friendships. As a result, I feel much more comfortable, and most importantly, happier.

Leave a Reply

