Daily Prompt: “Right Here, Right Now”

Daily Prompt (Writer’s Block Party): When was the last time you experienced writer’s block? What do you think brought it about — and how did you dig your way out of it?”

“Right Here, Right Now” by Cindi

If I had to pinpoint the main obstacle regarding my lack of posts on this blog, I would point out the struggle of facing writer’s block. It’s funny; prior to entering high school, I had no idea what a writer’s block was. All I knew was that a lot of writers tend to have it.

This past school year definitely showed me what a writer’s block is. I remember being assigned an essay for my AP Language and Composition class. Weeks passed after my teacher presented the essay prompt to the class; however, I had nothing in mind. Everything I typed up, I eventually erased. For some reason, my sentences weren’t coherent and there wasn’t any kind of structure in my essay. That’s when I realized that I was suffering from a writer’s block.

Unfortunately, things haven’t been going well for me this summer as well. My level of creativity has been at an all-time low and I seem to be lacking inspiration. There would be moments when a light bulb goes off in my head, but two minutes later, the light bulb just shuts off.

What’s causing this dilemma? I think the writer’s block is attributed to the fact that I have been struggling with my senior year schedule. It seems as if I never get the schedule I want. Last year, I really wanted to take AP Chemistry, but there was no way it could have fit into my schedule. This year, the class can fit into my schedule. However, I can’t take it because there is no room. This upsets me because I know I am capable of handling the class, yet I’m unable to even give the class a shot. This mood-killing obstacle is definitely the culprit for the writer’s block.

Hopefully, my schedule works out (fingers crossed!). I think that if my schedule problem works out, the writer’s block that I’ve been facing will fade away. However, maybe a bit of excitement in my life can be the solution…

 

 

Leave a Reply

