My old city spending money elsewhere?

My old city spending money elsewhere? by Sophie

Maybe there are money problems. Maybe there are time conflicts. But my goodness, can you buy some trees from Wal-Mart and plant them?

I moved a while ago but I spent more than 10 years in a certain city.

I was a kid then. To me, everything was big and vast. I didn’t care about money. I didn’t care about city officials.

For years, I would always stare out the window in a car to daydream. From that, I noticed a slight difference in neighboring cities:

Old city

Old City

Nice city

other city

 

Old city 2

Old City

Nice city 2

other city

It might not be a significant difference but I think taking care of your city means a lot. After some chat with friends at the library, I realized my old city isn’t really that nice no matter how expensive housing is.

There are potholes on certain street, empty lots in between business buildings for years, a closed down elementary school meant to built into a park years ago.

While going home in the car, I looked out and saw construction workers re-doing the street lanes with new cement. I was pretty happy because I thought, “Wow, finally they are realizing the state of all the streets. I was expecting them to do my street also because the workers were redoing street that connect to mine. I was pretty surprised they didn’t. I mean, my street hasn’t had a sweeping or redoing in YEARS.

I know there are probably a lot of cities like this. I guess I’m just trying to bring out a point.

I have hung around a lot of teacher’s classrooms to listen to there conversations.

I’ve heard one of my teachers said once:

One of my old students noticed potted plants in huge china-like vases in strange parts of the city. She went to the city hall office to ask for public records of how much they spent on them. It was about $30,000. To top it off, the city purchased the vases or plants from one of the city official’s brother’s company.

Maybe there are money problems. Maybe there are time conflicts. But my goodness, can you buy some trees from Wal-Mart and plant them?

Leave a Reply

