Music Tuesdays – 10/21/14

Cindi: My song choice for this week is one that really touches my heart. The song is called “Divine” and it’s by one of my  favorite girl groups, Girls’ Generation. If you are someone who is keeping up with the KPOP (Korean pop) world, you would know that just recently, a member of Girls’ Generation was “forced” out. The news shattered me; the girl group that introduced me to the world of KPOP was no longer whole.

After the news settled down a bit, the music video for “Divine” was released. To my surprise, the video shows all the members of the group, including the member that was forced out. The video and the song brought tears down my cheeks. This group spent seven years together, so it’s hard to believe that one member can be forced out in such an abrupt manner.

The song “Divine” perfectly represents Girls’ Generation. The amazing vocals and the strong instrumental really ties everything together. The lyric that started my tears is,

We are always one.”

(Ironically, the member that sang that line was the member that was forced out. )

It’s hard for me to describe the actual feelings I get from this song, so I definitely recommend you to give this song a listen.

Sophie: My song choice is “Girls chase Boys” by Ingrid Michaelson. I’ve always been a fan of Ingrid and I love all the instruments played in the song.

All the broken hearts in the world still beat
Lets not make it harder than it has to be
Ooooooh it’s all the same thing
Girls chase boys chase girls

Leave a Reply

