DP: Call Me Ishmael – Cemetery of Forgotten Books

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Call Me Ishmael.” Take the first sentence from your favorite book and make it the first sentence of your post.

by Sophie

I still remember the day my father took me to the Cemetery of Forgotten Book for the first time.

“I still remember the day my father took me to the Cemetery of Forgotten Book for the first time.”

What was this? A weird magician book? I was wrong. There was no magicians. After a couple of pages, I began to feel a bit of a noir feeling. Setting in the 1920s-1930s in Barcelona, a string of murder, police, books, and mysterious people pulled me along for a long ride. Accompanying me was a playlist of Michael Bublé, Frank Sinatra, Nina Simone, and Bobby Darin. In a sense, it was magical. — Sophie

I first encountered this book in a 9th grade English class. I didn’t mean to fall in love with it. I gotta say, it was a beautiful book. Two-three years passed and I had forgotten the name and the author of the book but the plot and the atmosphere while reading the book was imprinted on me. The only image I had left was of a man casted in the night next to a street lamp.

Behind me was a table put aside for donated/old books on sale. Sometimes my eyes would linger back to it. I hoped maybe there was something for me. Maybe I would find something of a “jackpot” such as a crisp new-looking highly rated book. This time around, I was inches away from the table so I couldn’t resist.

It was meant to be when I found a copy at a library sale.

Shadow of the wind

My heart was so happy. I was never this lucky! I had found the book that was so close to my heart. And look, it was almost new. What surprised me was that right next to the book was a big royal blue book. I stretched into a smile. I couldn’t believe it. Two books that I always wanted to have! First, The Shadow of the Wind. Second, Outlander.

I was so excited that I texted a friend about what just happened. Can you imagine finding two books that you have been thinking about for weeks just happening to be standing there behind you in a crate?

I don’t think my friend really appreciated what happened. It was really hard trying to express my excitement. Of course I also couldn’t jump around in the library with a smile on my face. So, I’m very grateful to share this story with you all. I hope you appreciated how amazing this experience was to a book reader.

“The Shadow of the Wind” by Carlos Ruiz Zafón

Leave a Reply

