[150411] UCLA Admission and Bruin Day!

by Cindi Y. 

Photos are included at the end 🙂  All photo credits go to me. Please do not take without permission

Today, on the glorious day of April 11th, 2015, I had the honor of visiting UCLA not just as a prospective student, but as an admitted one. I remember going to UCLA twice previously: once for the 2009 Festival of Books and once for UCLA Red Cross Youth Day. In each of those visits, the campus literally took my breath away; it was just that beautiful. This spectacular campus, and many other important factors, encouraged me to apply to become a Bruin.

I honestly never thought that I would be admitted. When I came across the news article that stated that UCLA had received over 90,000 applicants for the 2015-2016 school year, I was shocked and my hopes were instantly lowered. My dad loves UCLA, so instantly, I could feel the disappointment setting onto my shoulders at that moment, even though admission decisions were still unknown.

What made this situation even worse was when I realized I missed the deadline for UCLA’s Regents Scholarship. When I saw the email that included all the information for the scholarship, my heart sank. How could I make such a crucial mistake? Was that mistake going to cost me my decision?

On March 20th, I took a really long nap and woke up to a Facebook message asking about my UCLA admission decision. I remember myself trying to calm down the nerves and keeping the expectations at a low level. I went on the admission portal, typed in the log-in information, and waited. A bright blue and yellow screen appeared and I smiled. I did it; I made it into UCLA.

Bruin Day rolled along and I really wanted my family to get the chance to see the campus for themselves. There were so many things for them to see and I had the opportunity to take some photos of the overall festivity. The whole day was filled with fun and it was great seeing UCLA students advocating their involvement in activities and clubs.

Whether I am officially going to attend UCLA in the fall is still being debated. I am fortunate enough to have received an amazing offer from the University of Notre Dame. I love both campuses and I am well aware of the opportunities they both hold for me. I have a stressful decision to make, but I know that I will create awesome experiences wherever I go.

Anyways, I had a wonderful time at Bruin Day 2015 and it was nice seeing all the admitted students as well. I’ll end the post with some of the photos I took today. Enjoy~

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

