Review: Made for You by Melissa Marr

Made for you bookcoverWhen Eva Tilling wakes up in the hospital, she’s confused – who in her sleepy little North Carolina town could have hit her with their car? Before she can consider the question, she finds that she’s awoken with a strange new skill: the ability to foresee people’s deaths when they touch her.

As she recovers from the attempt on her life, an old flame, Nate,  turns up. Eva must traverse their rocky past and figure out how to use her new power – while the killer grows increasingly frantic. Can she stop him, or will he claim her?

Initial Thought/Reaction by Sophie

The mystery of the killer and the whole scenario of a “town shake up” was appealing to me. I think this is my first southern gothic novel though other reviewers said the novel wasn’t really gothic.

The idea that she could see the death of people she touch was cool. This idea could have been used for many other novel ideas too.

Main Character thoughts /2nd Character thoughts

I like how Eva thinks. The way she describe high school social interaction and rules is spot on. Which makes me realize the characters are very realistic.

Piper is waiting for her cue, for me to tell her what to think. It’s how things are in Jessup. She’s one of the elite, but I’m the one she follows. My parents are the top of the food pyramid here, It’s not a situation I cherish, and I pretend not to notice. 

I simply play my part, fulfill their expectations and smile. It’s the best plan I have.

My book club liked the interaction between Eva and her mother. And I liked the interactions between Eva and her nurses.

The way Eva searched on Google the secret meanings the killer was trying to send her was funny because it reminded me of Dean and Sam from Supernatural.

A scene you like/did not like

I was discussing the clues the author left for the readers with my book club. Each of us had different turning point for when we figured out who the killer was.

Usually I am quite good at figuring out the killers. Especially on tv shows. I watch so many shows that I have come to conclude who the killer is by the first 10-15 minutes.

For this book, I was one of the people who figured out who the killer is rather last. I was quite thrown off by the details as it was contradictory at some parts. I think deep inside I just didn’t want it to be that easy. There was no other suspects than one or two people. The reveal of the character was disappointing.

Questions I have/Final Thoughts

Since I had to read this for a book club, I felt very obligated to finish.

One thing I noticed was how quick the ending seemed. I want a little more elaboration into the killer because he encountered Eva face to face rather quickly. For a psychopath, the killer was a excellent pretender of being normal. So, I was quite disappointed in how his delusion of having a relationship with Eva made him clumsy at the end.

Rating (a score out of 5) or Recommendation

3 out of 5. The plot was interesting and the characters were at least likable. Go mom! Go Grace!

[Note: I would not re-read and I would borrow it from the library]

The romance was nice and almost even normal. There was a noticeable flare with the idea that they use to be inseparable childhood friends. 

The killer’s psyche was actually very creepy and well done but the ending/climax was a bit rushed.

Leave a Reply

