Review: The Grand Sophy by Georgette Heyer

Grand SophyWhen Lady Ombersley agrees to take in her young niece, no one expects Sophy, who sweeps in and immediately takes the ton by storm. Sophy discovers that her aunt’s family is in desperate need of her talent for setting everything right: Cecilia is in love with a poet, Charles has tyrannical tendencies that are being aggravated by his grim fiancee, her uncle is of no use at all, and the younger children are in desperate need of some fun and freedom. By the time she’s done, Sophy has commandeered Charles’s horses, his household, and finally, his heart.

Initial Thoughts/Reactions by Sophie
Everything Georgette Heyer writes is amazing. I haven’t been able to check out her mystery books yet but I’ll be waiting for a good sale or nice library copy. It wasn’t until I finished this book that I realized this book is one of the favorites amongst readers. Also, the protagonist has a similar name as me.

He was staring at her, as though a thought, blinding in its novelty, had occurred to him. Her gaze remained steady, a little questioning, He rose abruptly, half-stretched out his hand, but let is fall again, and, turning, went quickly out of the room.

Main/Secondary Character Thoughts
Sophy, the protagonist, is a breath of fresh air and lively. She brought life back into a house with a stale atmosphere. See, Celia is set to marry a man who the family sees as a good match but when that man is caught with the mumps, the engagement is stalled. Lady Ombersley and Charles feel it would be best to keep appearances low during the season and wait until the man gets better. Too bad Celia begins to fall in love with a rather laid-back unwanted yet devilishly handsome poet.

Sophy is independent, fashionable, and courageous. Her mother died when she was young so she grew up traveling with her father. In the book, we see she is quite popular amongst..well everyone.

I like how Charles understands and humors her with sparing conversations.

‘Do they tread blindly towards their doom, Sophy, or did they willingly receive a firebrand into their midst?’

She gave a chuckle. “They tread blindly – but I am not a firebrand!”

‘No, I used the wrong word. You are like a poor Whinyates’s rockets: no one knows what you will do next!”

Lord Bromford, the man who tried to propose to Sophy, reminded me of Mr. Collins from Pride and Prejudice. Almost like a mirrored image in personality and speech.

Cecilia’s new beau, Augustus the poet, seem so into.. well anything. He almost floated around the background in an almost comical way.

Mr. Fawnhope having become rapt in contemplation of a clump of daffodils, which caused him to throw out a hand, murmuring: “Daffodils that come before the swallow dares!

A scene I liked/disliked
My favorite scene was when Sophy tried to fix so many problems at once by gathering the intended persons to one house. It didn’t go all to plan because of some other circumstances. Then, Charles comes bursting into a room and this is what Heyer wrote;

Mr. Rivenhall, meanwhile, had mounted the stairs, and had, without ceremony, flung open the door of the best spare-bedroom. A domestic scene met his affronted eyes.

For some reason, I found that sentence so hilarious. If you understand what was happening before and understand Sophy’s plan/scheme, it would be quite funny.

Questions I have/Final Thoughts
I have read quite a few of Heyer’s books though I think I only reviewed one or two. This books is at least in my top 3 books written by Heyer. I could see why many readers had “The Grand Sophy” in their top book lists as well. Everyone was fleshed out and every page was interesting. You become quite adjusted to the atmosphere of the book and the details in the book.

Sophy, the protagonist, seem to almost have no faults. She is polite, funny, and confident.
I did have a bit of trouble wrapping my head around the relationship between Charles and Sophy. Although I liked their relationship, it should be said that they are cousins. But I guess back then it was not as strange?

Rating or Recommendation
5 out of 5. It was a light read and enjoyable. I read it quite fast and even stayed up until 3 am. I feel like I give out a lot of 5 out of 5s. So let me distinguish this one. I mean, it didn’t blow my mind and such but it gave me a smile. I didn’t expect anything more from this book. I was satisfied but I also didn’t have a fangirl/fanatic moment where I linger for more plot.

I would add this book to my collection of Heyer books. If you read other Heyer books, then you should check this out. It is most definitely a #1 fan favorite amongst Heyer fans.

Leave a Reply

