[C’s Day – January 3rd, 2015]: “Long Time No See”

by Cindi Y.

All photo credits go to me. Please do not take without permission. Thanks!

See, I included the video above because I find it totally appropriate for the situation I’m in (By the way, I really, really love this song!). Really, long time no see. It has been so long since I have written a post. I feel genuinely sorry for not posting for so long, especially since I told myself last year (as a sort of New Year’s resolution–but we all know how those turn out) to try my best to update on this blog as often as I can. However, despite my best intentions, I found it difficult to do so.

I am going to be completely honest… College kicked me in the butt, hard. For those of you who don’t know, I just finished my first semester of college at Notre Dame. As someone who pretty much breezed her way through high school, I didn’t think of college as such a big deal or as such a big challenge; to me, I thought of college as something like an upgraded version of high school (e.g. high school 2.0). I am not completely sure about what other universities are like, but Notre Dame has shown me the complete opposite of what I had expected.

I would be lying if I said that the first semester was easy for me, because it wasn’t. I had a difficult time managing all the things and tasks that I had to do for each of my classes, and I think my failure to do so showed in the scores I received for my exams. What made the entire situation much more difficult was the fact that I was so far away from home. When I had decided to commit to Notre Dame, being far from my family was the last thing on my mind. I thought that I was independent enough to not miss being home. Again, I was wrong. Constant and frequent worries about how my parents were doing at work or how my siblings were doing in school plagued my mind. Whenever I heard a voice message from my parents on WeChat (which is basically a Chinese Whatsapp), I held back tears… I had missed my family that much.

Despite all the obstacles and shortcomings I came across, I was fortunate enough to somewhat catch up in most of my classes and to do decently in majority of my finals. What sucked about getting through my first-ever finals was that part of me wanted to do well (which is natural), whereas the other part of me wanted to just get the exams over with so that I can finally come home. I pushed through, and surprisingly, my final grades exceeded the expectations I had developed for myself after I had seen my midterm grades.

Through experiencing my first semester of college, I definitely learned some things. First of all, it’s true that once you fall behind, it’s hard to catch up. There’s so many things going on and so much information coming at you everyday that it may be impossible to go back and to bring yourself back up to pace. Therefore, it’s important to manage your time and to make sure to not fall behind (reminder to self!). Another thing I learned is that it’s okay to be alone sometimes. When I first came to college, I thought that it was pathetic to be by myself so I tried to surround myself with people, especially during meal times. However, in college, everyone has a schedule of his or her own, so it’s impractical to meet up someone for every single meal. I learned that it’s fine to have a meal with yourself. In fact, there are times when I prefer to eat by myself.

This semester, though difficult, did bring some fun and enjoyable moments. I got a taste of that college life that I have always read about and most importantly, I learned a lot, not only about subjects like bio or psych, but also about myself. Hopefully, I can take my experiences from this past semester and everything I learned from it to better myself and to prepare more effectively for next semester.

Anyways, in the beginning of my post, I mentioned how I haven’t been posting at all. I’m going to try my best (again) to post more often. I know that it’s healthier to write out all my thoughts instead of bottling them in, so I am thinking about doing more personal posts and doing them on a more frequent basis. It’ll be fun looking back at the end of the year… I think. Also, what I want to do is attach a photo that I have taken during the school year with every personal post to kind of spark things up a bit.

Thank you so much for reading and see you tomorrow! Hopefully. 🙂

IMG_2300

A photo of the view from my flight from L.A. to Chicago when I first started my journey as a Fighting Irish.

Photo by Cindi. Please give credit to “Cindi Y. from amidnightblog.wordpress.com” when using photo. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

