Movie: Amélie (The Fabulous Destiny of Amélie Poulain)

amelie picAmélie is a story about a girl whose childhood was suppressed by her Father’s mistaken concerns of a heart defect. With these concerns Amélie gets hardly any real life contact with other people. This leads Amélie to resort to her own fantastical world and dreams of love and beauty. After finding a lost treasure belonging to the former occupant of her apartment, she decides to return it to him. Seeing his reaction and his new found perspective – she decides to devote her life to the people around her. In the meantime she pursues a quirky guy who collects discarded photo booth pictures. (from IMBD)

So, my little Amélie, you don’t have bones of glass. You can take life’s knocks. If you let this chance pass, eventually, your heart will become as dry and brittle as my skeleton. So, go get him, for Pete’s sake! – Dufayel

I wanted to talk about this movie because I loved it. You don’t need me to tell you how good it is. It was cited as “Nominated for 5 Academy Awards including Best Original Screenplay, this magical comedy met overwhelming acclaim nationwide.” 

So, would you want to watch it? I would compare the pace of the movie to “The Grand Budapest Hotel”. Even the quirkiness is similar. I think that is why I like it so much. If I could pick a word to describe this movie, the movie would be – charming.

Amélie, having been raised by quite eccentric parents, is quite quirky. The good kind of quirky. Movie movie went in the same pace as her actions. This meaning that I felt the movie was moving as fast as she was thinking. What I like about her is that she is quite outgoing if you put aside her shyness and introverted nature. I say she is outgoing because she is very clever. I could say she the only successful person who meddled in people’s live — in a fun way.

Amélie spends her life around so many people at work and at home. The failed writer. The bitter ex-boyfriend of another waitress. The reclusive neighbor. The grocery boy with one arm(?). The mysterious photo man. Her widowed and anti-social father. The traveling gnome. And many many more.

All this connects in the movie. As she realizes that she feels great when others are happy. I loved watching her ridiculous- insane- clever plans unravel. I was smiling foolishly and anxious with embarrassment and awkwardness whenever her plans took place.

My favorite moments were:

1. The traveling gnome.

gnome traveling

 

Seeing how her father was reclusive after the death of her mother, Amélie comes up with a plan to slightly push her father into one of his life long dreams of traveling. Amélie takes her father’s newly cleaned garden gnome to her friend. Her fathers gets mail/postcards from the actual gnome going on trip to New York, Moscow, etc. At first, I found it quite amusing. I couldn’t figure out how she did it. 

2. The ending scene. I don’t want to spoil much. If you plan on watching the movie, remember the line in the movie :

You’ll find Mr. Right one day. All women want to sleep on a man’s shoulder. – Cafe Patron

It’s not what you expect.

Notes:  There was a few things I’m blurry on. This movie is romantic comedy and it has a happy/feel good plot. Hence, I didn’t really understand the ending for the failed writer. Also, did the grocery boy’s boss realize anything at the end of the movie. Did he change for the better or was Amélie just playing tricks on him?

Written by Sophie

Leave a comment